Professional Details

Kavita Bhagat

Click here to email
Click for Full Website
215 Queen Street West
Brampton, ON L6Y1M6
CAN
9054976806
Fax: 9054976807

Description of Practice

As a Certified Family Law Specialist, I specialize in all aspects of family law and can assist with disputes that arise from issues in a marriage, common-law relationship and with respect to children.

I have practiced law for over 15 years. I am a sole practitioner in a self-sustaining Family Law practice. I maintain a broad family law practice including all matters relating to division of property, trust, common law relationships, child & spousal support, child custody, access, adoptions, drafting of surrogacy, prenuptial, marriage, cohabitation, parenting and separation agreements. My practice has an emphasis on complex business valuations, income determination, pensions and division of assets spanning multiple jurisdictions both domestic and abroad.

Approach

I am a strong advocate of early resolution through pre-court negotiations; however some disputes simply cannot be resolved through agreement and require me to skillfully run the matter through the court system. My practice is solution-oriented and where possible, supportive of alternative dispute resolution. I am an Accredited Family Mediator and a member of the Ontario Association of Family Mediators.

Other Information

Originally from India, I obtained my Bachelors in Law from India and continue to be a member of the Bar Council of India. I worked with the former Additional Solicitor General of India and major law firms in India where I specialized in corporate law, administrative law, trademarks and patents. I have a Masters in Law from the University of Lancaster, U.K. We came to Canada as ex-pats, we loved it, and we hung our coats and unpacked our suitcases.

Born into a family of lawyers I felt a keen urge to pursue law. My parents were unsure if their spirited child could handle the pressure of law and insisted that I complete my undergraduate studies in a general discipline. My education was funded by my parents but my life experiences were funded by my entrepreneuring skills, sold commissioned art, made and sold jewelry and a few dozen other things. I also clerked with law firms throughout high school and university.

I am mom to 9 year old twins and a teenager. If I can survive these teenage years I can survive anything! My twins were born at 6.5 months, to this date I help them deal with the challenges they are faced with as preemies. I have known my husband since my undergraduate years; he is home every weekend and travels most weekdays.

Areas of Practice

  • Adult Family
  • Divorce (all issues)
  • Divorce (parenting)
  • Family
  • LGBTQ
  • Marital Mediation
  • Prenuptial

Professional Services

  • Mediator
  • Mediating Lawyer
  • Collaborative Professional
  • Facilitator