Stay up to date on everything mediation!

Subscribe to our free newsletter,
"This Week in Mediation"

Sign Up Now

Already subscribed No subscription today
<xTITLE>Jim Melamed Receives 2007 Haynes Award from ACR</xTITLE>

Jim Melamed Receives 2007 Haynes Award from ACR

October 2007 ZZZZZ
Jim Melamed, former Academy of Family Mediators Executive Director and co-Founder of, received the 2007 John Haynes Distinguished Mediator Award from the Association for Conflict Resolution at ACR's recent 2007 Phoenix Conference.

The John Haynes Distinguished Mediator Award is presented annually to a prominent and internationally recognized leader in mediation who demonstrates personal and professional commitment to finding mediation solutions to conflict while balancing therapeutic and legal perspectives.

John Haynes was a pioneer in the field of family mediation, a respected author and practitioner, an international trainer, and the first president of the Academy of Family Mediators. In keeping with his legacy, the candidate should demonstrate innovation, creativity, and outstanding competence in published writings, training, and practice, maintain personal and professional integrity and respect for others, and embrace a sense of humor and humility about our standing as fallible beings.

Haynes Award Recipient History

2007 - James C. Melamed
2006 - Arnie Shienvold
2005 - Nina Meierding
2004 - Zena D. Zumeta
2003 - Barbara Landau
2002 - Donald T. Saposnek 2001 - Larry S. Fong
2000 - Janet Johnston
1999 - Jay Folberg, J.D.
1998 - John Paul Lederach
1997 - Isolina Ricci
1996 - Marilyn S. McKnight and Stephen K. Erickson
1995 - Raymond Shonholtz
1994 - Hugh McIsaac
1993 - Joan Kelly
1990 - Albie Davis and the Harvard Negotiation Project
1989 - O.J. Coogler (posthumous) and CDR Associates
1988 - John M. Haynes


In business since 1996, is the world’s leading mediation and dispute resolution website with over 7 million annual site visitors. serves as a bridge between professionals offering dispute resolution services and individuals and businesses needing those services. was awarded the 2010 American Bar Association Institutional Problem Solver of the Year Award. online services for professionals and programs are described at:  Please begin by joining at Also consider our Featured Mediator Program,  Online Mediation Training and our case management system.

Email Author
Author Website

Additional articles by