Book Reviews Section


Book Reviews


The Financially Smart Divorce Book Review

(2/17/17)John Fiske, J Anthony Licciardello

Divorce mediators can greatly benefit from reading and having readily on hand this new book by a Certified Divorce Financial Analyst who understands that divorce should be a planning process.

John Lande

Lainey Feingold's Book on Structured Negotiation

(10/03/16)John Lande

I recently had a chance to talk with Lainey Feingold, the author of a great new book on negotiation, which she describes below.

Sheldon Stark

Opinions—Essays on Lawyering, Litigation and Arbitration, the Placebo Effect, Chutzpah, and Related Matters--Book Review

(9/09/16)Sheldon Stark

This book is a collection of previously published essays by two outstanding lawyers, one of whom is a well respected arbitrator, who practice labor and employment law in Michigan. The essays - witty, thought provoking and insightful - are drawn from experience in the trenches. They address lawyering, brief writing, mediation and arbitration, civility, persuasion, life, and MORE!

F. Peter Phillips

New Book on Business ADR

(8/19/16)F. Peter Phillips

The ABA Business Law Section has about 50 substantive committees, many of which include subcommittees addressing dispute resolution in their field. In the past several months, many members of these various entities undertook a collaborative effort to “cut across the solos.”

Stop Avoiding Conflict: Learn to Address Disputes Before They Erupt - Book Review

(4/08/16)Lynne Kinnucan, Patricia Porter

Stop Avoiding Conflict: Learn to Address Disputes Before They Erupt, Pattie Porter's new Minibuk, expands the conflict territory by focusing on the sabotaging effect of conflict avoidance.

Phyllis Pollack

Principles and Optimism /Realism and Compromise

(3/31/16)Phyllis Pollack

As a mediator, I have often had a party tell me that she will not settle on the terms proffered because, “It is all about principle!”

F. Peter Phillips

Splendid New “Must-Have” Book on Mediation

(2/26/16)F. Peter Phillips

Of all the volumes on mediation — many of them very good, some of them of great practical value — few are “must-have” volumes, in my mind. One “must-have” is Dwight Golann’s Mediating Legal Disputes. It is well-thumbed and as recently as last night I had occasion to pull it down to review techniques for overcoming impasse.

Albie Davis

2015’s the 100th Anniversary of the Women at the Hague: Lessons for Today (Fall 2015)

(11/16/15)Albie Davis

If you are looking for a inspiring read, consider 'Women at The Hague: The International Congress of Women and Its Results' authored by three American women: Jane Addams, Emily Green Balch and Alice Hamilton. I have two copies. An original published November 1915 by Macmillan Company. The second is a soft-cover published in 2003 by the University of Illinois Press with an enriching preface by Professor Harriet Hyman Alonso, City College of New York.

Unbroken Circles for Schools - Book Review

(5/15/15)Ken Johnson, Barb Caffrey

"Unbroken Circles for Schools" is an excellent nonfiction read about conflict, social justice, and restorative justice. Mr. Johnson's premise is that our criminal justice system is doing juvenile offenders a grave disservice. Rather than sending juvenile offenders into the prison system (where they mostly learn only to re-offend), we need to teach the principles of restorative justice instead -- and where else should these principles be taught but in the schools?

Getting to Yes – With Yourself -- Book Review

(5/08/15)William Ury, John Sturrock

“In the morning when I look at myself in the mirror, I like to remind myself that I am seeing the person who is probably going to give me the most trouble that day, the opponent who will be the biggest obstacle to me getting what I truly want.”

Both Textbook and Handbook – Lisa Parkinson’s “Family Mediation” - Book Review

(4/10/15)Lisa Parkinson, Sabine Walsh

Whether for family mediators in particular, or family lawyers in general, Lisa Parkinson’s third edition of ‘Family Mediation’ is the authoritative textbook and guide that no professional adviser in family disputes should be without.

Donald T. Saposnek

Book Review: The Master Agreement by Jay Bultz

(3/25/15)Donald T. Saposnek

'The Master Agreement' offers a comprehensive manual of issues, clauses and phrases for use in drafting Marital Settlement Agreements. The author capably provides a collection of relevant issues and then a multitude of options for clauses to include in your divorce and separation agreements. This book is unique, of very high quality, will save you time and elevate the quality of your drafting.

Lisa Parkinson

Family Mediation - Preface

(3/12/15)Lisa Parkinson

The Children and Families Act 2014 is focusing more attention on the role of family mediation in the family justice system. Family mediators have been given greater responsibility to encourage consideration of non-court dispute resolution processes before application is made to the family court, and to assess the suitability of mediation in particular circumstances.

Getting to Yes with Yourself: Book Review

(2/13/15)William Ury, Jeff Thompson

William Ury, coauthor of the international bestseller Getting to Yes, returns with another groundbreaking book, this time asking: how can we expect to get to yes with others if we haven’t first gotten to yes with ourselves?

William Ury

William Ury “Getting to Yes with Yourself” – 53 min. Video

(1/29/15)William Ury

Renowned negotiation expert William Ury visited Google's Cambridge, MA office to discuss his book, "Getting to Yes with Yourself (and Other Worthy Opponents").

Recovering After Conflict - Book Excerpt

(1/23/15)Katie Carey

When people have lived with an ongoing conflict for a while, it is often hard for them to find a new identity. Conflict often becomes a part of people and fuels their fire. After conflict, it is important to take to heal and find ways to fuel a new fire. This book excerpt discusses that process.

Elinor Robin

Four Things You May Not Know About Conflict Even Though You Are Already A Conflict Expert--Book Excerpt

(1/02/15)Elinor Robin

Preview an excerpt of Elinor Robin's new book. Most of its content is relevant to the work we do as mediators, but not typical of the information generally presented during a mediation training program.

Lorraine Segal

The Conflict Pivot: A Must-Read for Mediators and Coaches - Book Review

(12/05/14)Lorraine Segal

In Tammy Lenski's latest book, The Conflict Pivot: Turning Conflict into Peace of Mind, I have discovered a rich resource that I can use in the moment while I’m working with clients, and which I can give to my clients to guide them when they're in the grip of a conflict. This article summarizes the book and explains why it is so valuable.

Doris Tennant

Reflections on Everything is Workable: A Zen Approach to Conflict Resolution

(10/31/14)Doris Tennant

Everything is Workable (Shambhala, 2013) is Hamilton’s book about how to live consciously in a world sated with conflicts. She acknowledges that learning conflict skills asks something of us: 'The more intimate we become with human suffering, the greater our compulsion to serve others.'

Kevin Boileau

The Myth of Mediation Neutrality - book excerpt

(8/08/14)Kevin Boileau

The traditional view is that a mediator is a neutral, third party who helps two or more conflicting parties cooperatively resolve their differences. Interestingly enough, this belief is analogous to the Cartesian-Newtonian epistemological position that holds that one can be an independent observer of an objective world, in science or in daily life. However, I am skeptical about this position, both epistemologically and clinically. What remains an open question is whether a mediator can actually ever be a 'neutral third.'

Michael Leathes

Book Review: The Variegated Landscape of Mediation

(7/31/14)Michael Leathes

Never before has an attempt been made to capture the distinctive qualities and differences that combine to make mediation eclectic and also truly comprehensible. Until now. 'The Variegated Landscape of Mediation' (Eleven International Publishing, July 2014) is a collaboration of around 90 of mediation's thought leaders from around the world. It is the first work that explains on a global plane how mediation has cross-pollinated itself into such a kaleidoscopic display of both consistent and contradictory features.

Ron Supancic

Dance of Opposites - Book Review

(7/11/14)Ron Supancic

The Dance of Opposites, a new book by Dr. Kenneth Cloke, will change your life. You will never view conflict the same way again. If you only read one more book on the theory & practice of Conflict Resolution, make it this one.

"Conflict - The Unexpected Gift" Book Review

(6/06/14)Jack Hamilton, Elisabeth Seaman

Conflict is a common aspect of life that is extremely difficult to avoid because each person is different from others and arrives at his or her own conclusions about the behavior of others and the events in a situation. Although conflicts may seem unavoidable, one can actually learn how to work through them and come out with a better relationship in the end. The book 'Conflict—The Unexpected Gift: Making the Most of Disputes in Life and Work' presents a highly detailed and comprehensive approach to resolving interpersonal conflicts.

Don Philbin

Book Review: Short and Happy Guide to Mediation

(6/03/14)Don Philbin

Will Pryor's 'Short and Happy Guide to Mediation' is both. You can read it in a sitting, and probably will. But it covers the waterfront too. Pryor teaches the latest negotiation theory, but the focus is decidedly on applying it in practice. The book not only helps neutrals, it helps parties and their advocates better utilize the process to maximize results.

Gregorio Billikopf

Party-Directed Mediation: Book Download

(4/04/14)Gregorio Billikopf

The third edition of Party-Directed Mediation: Facilitating Dialogue between Individuals is now on-line as a free PDF download. This controversial book explains two mediation models in depth.

Click here for MORE ARTICLES